The Drowsy Chaperone presented by Kennett High School

Kennett High School will present its annual musical March 16 – 18. This year’s production of the show The Drowsy Chaperone includes a cast of nearly sixty Kennett High School singers, actors, and dancers. Ms. Katie Soukup is the music director, and Ms. Cindy Albertini is the stage director/choreographer. Ms. Julie Bolten serves as the play’s costume designer and coordinator, and Mr. Michael Anastas will manage the lighting, sound, and stage crews. Mr. Steve Dooley is supervising the set build.

The Drowsy Chaperone logo

The Drowsy Chaperone is a parody of American musical comedies of the 1920s. The Tony Award-winning show, with book by Bob Martin and Don McKellar and music and lyrics by Lisa Lambert and Greg Morrison, first appeared on Broadway in 2006, garnering thirteen Tony Award nominations and winning five that year. The story revolves around a middle-aged musical theater fan, The Man in Chair, played by Danny Drennan. The man listens to a recording of his favorite musical, the fictional hit The Drowsy Chaperone, to chase away the blues. As he listens to the recording, the show’s characters come to life in his gloomy apartment. The fictional play-within-a-play’s cast includes oil tycoon Robert Martin (Ben Skross) and Broadway star Janet Van De Graaff (Sami Castleton), who are planning to marry, along with their hilarious wedding guests: aging hostess Mrs. Tottendale (Madison Brown); her loyal employee known only as Underling (Evan Shinn); Robert’s best man, George (Peter Magasiny); Broadway producer Feldzieg (Connor Lang) of Feldzieg’s Follies; ditzy flapper Kitty (Rachel Hyzny); two gangsters (Kevin Fiss and Lydia Pebly); Latin lover Aldolpho (Colin Petersen); Janet’s alcoholic chaperone (Mirella Petrillo); and Trix (Hannah Mourad), an aviatrix.

Completing the cast are Lilian Alba, Megan Appleby, Kassie Ayllon, Amanda Bell, Grace Bolten, Anna Brunke, Katie Burton, Francesca Caccamo, Giovanna Caccamo, Avery Chapman, Kaitlyn Devonshire, Olivia Donia, Abbie Duckworth, Zhuanel duToit, Lily Ehren, Michael Frankosky, Tim Freligh, Emily Funkhouser, Forest Gheen-Regouski, Emma Giancola, Holly Gouge, Allie Hodges, Anais Jevtitch, Julia Kelso, Rebecca Larimer, Kelsey Lucenius, Emily Mallon, Ella Masciulli, Cassidy Matz, Caleb Pebly, Laurel Petersen, Tejis Ranganath, Jimmy Rosser, Noah Schiller, Maggie Schubert, Julia Sharp, Ananya Shivakumar, Arielle Smith, Samantha Sullivan, Emily Thompson, Harry Warren, and Anna Wilson. Featured dancers include Callie Fitzgibbon, Tamblyn Mitchell, Olivia Pagliaro (Dance Captain), and Liz Rauscher.

Audiences will be treated to such numbers as “Show Off,” “As We Stumble Along,” “Fancy Dress,” and “I Do, I Do in the Sky.”

To purchase tickets, click here.