Kennett High School Inducts National Honor Society Members

The Kennett High School Blue and White Chapter of the National Honor Society welcomed both the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 inductees at a ceremony and reception on April 7, 2021. The weather cooperated beautifully for the event held at the high school’s football stadium. KHS NHS Induction

Chapter adviser Dr. Alicia Tamargo opened the program, welcoming students and guests to the first in-person, non-athletic event of the 2020-2021 school year. Outgoing NHS historian senior Ryan Myers then introduced the other four National Honor Society officers from the Class of 2021 who delivered speeches highlighting the Cardinal Objectives, the qualities expected of members: Sara Pizzini addressed character; Evan Sharp spoke about scholarship; Henry Sedano focused on leadership; and Jack Ryan emphasized the idea of service.

Next, Mr. Duane Kotz, Assistant Principal, called the role of the senior candidates. With the closure of school last year, NHS Induction was one of the many milestone events cancelled in the spring, so senior candidates never had the opportunity to participate in an official celebration.

These students would have been inducted at the 2020 ceremony: Amy Bates, Joseph Bertz, Maxwell Beveridge, Paige Brown, Cory Burns, James Burns, Cheyenne Camacho, Franlleli Castillo-Salinas, Alexis Cicconi, Carly Cicconi, Caroline Cofran, Lauren Cohen, Marlen Cordova-Pedroza, Vincent Cresci, Julia Dahms, Meredith Davies, Aldys Davis, David Diokno, Charles Ebaugh, Anis Estrada-Aguilar, Isabella Ferranto, Colette Franck, Lillian Goodwin, Shannon Gouge, Mia Gruce, Griffin Haas, Jennifer Hanson, Chase Harris, Evan Hartmann, Taylor Heimann, Emma Henderson, Jaqueline Hernandez Martinez, Alondra Herrera-Esquivel, Ashley Hoernig, Sarah Hoppenjans, Richard Hughson, Luke Jeffery, Rio King, William Kleman, Meghan Kohler, Julia Kosara, Andrew Kuffel, Kiley Larkin, Sydney Lillard, Lauren Markle, Hailey Maurer, Gavin Maxwell, Sydney McCracken, Katherine Minella, Ryan Myers, Spencer Pannhorst, William Parnell, Nicholas Patterson, Julian Pena, Hanna Pirestani, Sara Pizzini, Zara Quraishi, Jenna Robertson, Jack Ryan, Sara Sabo, Madison Sallurday, Emma Schmidt, Emma Schwarz, Catherine Seamon, Henry Sedano, Alexandra Seel, Evan Sharp, Daniel Shen, Swithin Shortlidge, Haylie Silbernagel, Logan Skross, Julia Snoke, Lauren Starr, Jacob Thompson, Aalana Vasquez, Ava Wannemacher, Leah Wardell, Sydney Williams, Sean Wright, Josette Wynn, Briza Zavala, and Kayleigh Zubrod.

Then, Mrs. Eileen Rudisill, Assistant Principal, read the roll of this year’s junior candidates. These students were welcomed into the Chapter: Sophia Adam, Alexandra Barron, Ashley Brown, Curie Cha, Vivian Chiomento, Jesse Comanda, Meredith Day, Divan du Toit, Carter Elliott, Peyton Fenza, Lainee Foester, Diana Giganti Dima, Marisol Gonzalez Flores, Nicholas Gonzalez, Nina Gralewski-Goel, Jack Hannon, Mary Harper, Shannon Harvey, Sylvia He, Martin Heintzelman, Nate Heller, Jacob Hohner, Anne Holt, Amelia Houck, Savannah Jeffery, Amber Kahrs, Mattias King, Elizabeth Larimer, Tiffany Lee, Clara-Jane Mack, Hayley Magaña, Julia Michael, Emma Nace, Sophia Pepe, Lillian Perkins, Logan Piercy, Grace Pruitt, Maya Ranganath, Marissa Reidenberg, Penny Romanelli, Baden Saathoff, Emily Sandoval-Arteaga, Gavin Seele, Luke Silverstein, Sean Simmons, Rhiannon Stewart, Hadley Studer, Tyler Tebo, Anna Tresoldi, Luca Tresoldi, and Olivia Whittaker.

Mr. Jeffery Thomas, Assistant Principal, administered the pledge of honor, and Dr. Tamargo swore in and announced the newly-elected officers for 2021-2022: Emma Nace, President; Amelia Houck, Vice President; Diana Giganti Dima, Secretary; Mary Harper, Treasurer; and Marissa Reidenberg, Historian. These officers replace graduating seniors Henry Sedano, Sarah Pizzini, Jack Ryan, Evan Sharp, and Ryan Myers.

Members of the Blue and White Chapter became eligible by posting a 3.75 grade point average by the second semester of their junior year. Additional qualities of character, leadership, and service were assessed by the faculty of Kennett High School and reviewed by members of the National Honor Society Faculty Council who are chosen by the principal from among the faculty and serve for a period of two years. This year’s Faculty Council included Mr. Jess Bewley, Mr. Scott Bosch, Mr. Thomas Brientnall, Ms. Adrienne Hartford, Mr. Thomas Henry, Mr. Manuel Ibarra, Mr. Kevin Lentz, Mr. Joseph O’Sullivan, Mr. Ronald Phillips, Ms. Britany Schiavo, Ms. Laura Tingley, Mr. Daniel Whetsell, Ms. Emily Wisniewski, and Mr. John Zitarelli.